Picture
If you are just joining our story, feel free to start from the beginning, first blog post titled "The Beginning" on April 18, 2013.

After waiting for almost 22 years, my day finally arrived!  I would not have guessed only one year earlier that I would be marrying Brian Wilson!  I was so ready to start my life with him, to be his wife.  The excitement over shadowed any negative that I had heard through out my life, especially through my teenage years.  It does amaze me, looking back how much church women can talk negative about their husbands.  What business does anyone have exposing the weaknesses of their spouse, but even more so to young impressionable girls?  If your spouse won't protect you, who will?  Let's all be more aware, real Godly love does exist.  It's not always roses and gumdrops.  I was so blessed to have parents who desperately love each other, and were on the same team.  They never tore each other down, but protected each other.  Lord give me that kind of love.
I remember waking up really early May 27, 2000, and my hotel room being crazy!  Girls coming in and out.  Getting hair done, and bags packed to head off to make up.  I also remember running down to my parents room just to have a moment with them.  We rushed off to our appointments and before you know it I was all ready in my wedding dress, sitting waiting for the cue to walk through the double doors and down the aisle to meet Brian.  It seemed like it took forever, but at the same time it all went so fast!  
I held onto my Daddy's arm and he kept me steady as the doors opened and the long procession began.  I could see Brian at the end waiting for me.  He was so handsome and I could tell he was nervous!  He sucks on his bottom lip when he gets nervous.  But his smiling eyes put me at peace.  I didn't know if Brian was going to cry because he's really not a crier.  I found out later that his buddies were over to the side making faces at him as I was walking down the aisle, thanks guys!  Brian did cry later in the wedding during a song my brothers sang.  He's so sweet, that Brian Wilson.  
We had two Pastors tag team the wedding, Pastor Dave, Brian's youth pastor who had tremendous influence on Brian and helped shape the man he is, and my Daddy.  It was so special for both of us.  The ceremony actually began with a banner, a "Jesus" banner being walked down the center aisle and placed in the center of the stage to the words of the song, "come Lord Jesus and take your place."  Then my oldest brother, Russ, wrote the song I came down the aisle to.  All three of my brothers also sang a song, as well as some dears friends of ours.  But for me the moment in the back of my mind was, the "you may now kiss the bride" moment.  It couldn't get here fast enough!  
I was so excited to find my wedding vhs!  A sweet friend of mine helped put it on a disk for me to be able to share that moment with you.  Sadly the vhs skipped around some and just happen to skip through our kiss.  But what I do have of it, I want to share with you. I'm sure I don't have to tell you that I'm almost positive the heavens opened when Brian's lips touched mine.  My knees got weak, and everything went in slow motion.  I know the connection was more than just a physical one.  I entered into a covenant with Brian that day.  He is my promise, and I am his.  We were pronounced husband and wife, and I think we both smiled for a year straight!  (beat that Jon) 
I finally was Mrs. Brian Thomas Wilson....forever.  I couldn't get enough of him, I kept trying to sneak kisses while we were taking pictures and cutting cake.  When all was said and done, we drove away in Brian's Pontiac Grand Prix covered in writing and such!  He immediately wanted to go through a carwash, he was afraid the shoe polish would mess up the cars paint. We were only going about half an hour away for our wedding night to stay in a historic hotel in Americas Georgia.  (The Windsor)  So the third time he wanted to go through the carwash, I started to wonder if he was really concerned about this car, or if he was stalling!  Now that I know Brian, he was bound and determined to get that paint off of his car!  We made out in the carwash in the meantime!  We had a lot of time to make up for.  God had helped us keep our relationship pure.  I am so thankful to have that foundation with Brian. I'm certainly not going to go into any details with you, but God truly anointed that day and that night.  I just told my friends this little story, and they encouraged me to include it, so I'm going to!  At some point on our wedding night, Brian and I ventured out of our hotel room to find the snack and coke machines, you know, to refuel!  One of the machines gave us a fifty cent coin as change.  Well, I kept that coin and I still have it.  When I run across it, I think about that night, it makes me giddy!  But I think about how neat God is, even in the little things like change from a coin machine.  Instead of getting two quarters, we got back one fifty cent piece.  Just always a neat reminder that we are one! 
So here's just a little of our day, I was surrounded by so many wonderful people!  I hope you enjoy it!  I am so blessed to have this love! 
Click here to continue to the next post I Choose Reality...

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.